Who We Are

The Military Stability Commission and Foundation work in conjunction to proactively ensure the stability of Alabama-assigned DOD resources through study and evaluation of assigned military forces and civilian contractors and the movement of these resources within, to, and from the State of Alabama.

The Commission

Created by Alabama Act 2011-350 in June 2011, the Alabama Jobs Creation and Military Stability Commission is led by Lieutenant Governor Will Ainsworth, who serves as its Chair. The Commission consists of the Speaker of the House and Senate President Pro Tempore, which serve as its Vice Chairs; two members of the Alabama State Senate; two members of the Alabama State House; the Adjutant General of Alabama; the Director of the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs (ADECA); the Director of Homeland Security; the Secretary of Commerce; and 8 regional appointees from areas of heavy defense concentration in the State.

Lt. Governor Will Ainsworth


Sen. Greg Reed

Senate Pro Tem
Senate Vice Chair

Rep. Nathaniel Ledbetter

Speaker of the House
House Vice Chair

Sen. Josh Carnley

Senate Pro Tem Appointee

Sen. Rodger Smitherman

Senate Pro Tem Appointee

Rep. Ed Oliver

Speaker of the House Appointee

Rep. Rex Reynolds

Speaker of the House Appointee

BG David Pritchett

Adjutant General, AL National Guard

RADM W. Kent Davis (Ret.)

Commissioner, AL Dept. of Veteran Affairs

Dir. Kenneth Boswell

Director, AL Dept. of Economic and Community Affairs

Ellen McNair

Secretary of AL Dept. of Commerce

LTG Jim Pillsbury (Ret.)

Governor’s Appointee for Huntsville

Mr. Joe Ritch

Lt. Governor’s Appointee for Huntsville

Col. Greg Potts (Ret.)

Governor’s Appointee for Anniston

Mr. Nathan Hill

Lt. Governor’s Appointee for Anniston

BG Trent Edwards (Ret.)

Governor’s Appointee for Montgomery

Mr. Nim Frazer

Lt. Governor’s Appointee for Montgomery

BG Timothy Edens (Ret.)

Governor’s Appointee for the Wiregrass

Bobby Michael

Lt. Governor’s Appointee to the Wiregrass

The Foundation

The operational arm of the Military Stability Commission, the Military Stability Foundation is a private, non-profit foundation that was incorporated in September 2011. The Foundation works directly with the Commission, Alabama-assigned DOD installations, and the communities that surround and support them to develop and implement measures to retain and strengthen Alabama’s military assets and infrastructure and to assist in preparations for any impending Base Realignment and Closure (BRAC) or similar process.

The Foundation is led by a six-member Board of Directors, which are representative of areas of heavy defense concentration in the State. The Foundation’s day-to-day operations and activities are executed by the Executive Director and Military Family Liaison in close coordination with the Board of Directors.

Ron Boyd

Chairman – Birmingham

Mark Hearn

Board Member – Anniston

Mike Ward

Board Member – Redstone Region

Paul Hankins

Board Member – River Region

Leslie Sanders

Board Member – River Region

John Mitchell

Board Member – Wiregrass Region

Jake Proctor

Executive Director

Jen Holiday

Military Family Liason